A Stock Market Romance “For Bears To Dance To” by Tom Morrison

The book is a stock market Catch-22, with a bit of Ubu Roi tossed in the mix. It has a natural readership

Set on the eve of the last Great Market Crash, this is the story of Wilton X, a young stockbroker with MLPF&S, the acronym of his mentors. Fused by greed and fear, the world of securities constructs endless Walls of Worry and Slopes of Hope for their clients who grow more distracted every day. Here, Wilton pursues the most beautiful bankrupt orphan ever marketed and finds love, wealth and himself.

Bio: Tom Morrison

Entrepreneur, antiquarian, over-schooled and under-educated, grammatically frisky in  four languages, pedant in one. At the barricades since birth in a St. Louis Catholic  orphanage. Amateur expatriate in France and Austria, niche businesses in Germany and  Spain with a sitcom sojourn in Malibu. Self-indulgent. Only ambitions…writing, making  money in the shortest time possible (keeping it appears not to be in the genes, but post- graduate at distribution), and causing no pain in the parade.

Loves Vermeer. France. Re-reads Bovary and Catch-22. Collects 18th and 19th century  Ninos Jesus, same periods Spanish polychrome wood sculpture Saints, Yoruba Ibejis.

Fears modifiers loaded on innocent nouns or unwary verbs. Fowler guides well. Stock market Romance

To contact me: For Bears To Dance To: “A Stock Market Romance”

E-mail: tommorrisonibiza@gmail.com

tomm-1@usa.net

For Bears To Dance To

Book

A Novel  By Tom Morrison a Stock market Romance

Stock market

Brief Description:

Set on the eve of the last Great Market Crash, this is the story of Wilton X, a young stockbroker with MLPF&S, the acronym of his mentors. Fused by greed and fear, the world of securities constructs endless Walls of Worry and Slopes of Hope for their clients who grow more distracted every day. Here, Wilton pursues the most beautiful bankrupt orphan ever marketed and, already possessing health and height, he finds wealth, love, and himself.

The title FOR BEARS TO DANCE TO comes from Flaubert’s Madame Bovary – “Words are the broken drums on which men beat tunes for bears to dance to when they long to move the stars to pity.” It is the stock market bears who dance to Wilton’s tunes before the Crash about to be visited on them, while their counterparts, the stock market bulls, go to inventive ruin.

 

Literary footnote:

The novel is a Spanish picaresque in which sub-plots germinate…Don Quixote de la Mancha. It is a German Bildungsroman, as well, where the central character gains craft… The Sorrows Of Young Werther. And, of course, an American Guide Book…Huckleberry Finn or Catch-22. It is designed to assure every Master-Of-The-Universe that there is always a short cut…close, nearby, over the rise. Soon. stock market

Book Review

Foreward Clarion Review

For Bears To Dance To: A Stock Market Romance by Tom Morrison

* * * * * Five Stars (out of Five) “Author Tom Morrison credits Gustave Flaubert for the title of his new novel, For Bears To Dance To. The phrase comes from Flaubert’s classic Madame Bovary, but Morrison owes the Frenchman for far more than just the name of his book a Stock market Romance. In the tradition of Flaubert, Morrison offers a difficult read, one that requires fortitude and great persistence on the part of his reader. Morrison asks not only acceptance of the irony, satire, and structural devices of Flaubert’s modern realism, but also understanding of the questioning and black humor of a later age’s postmodernism. Readers looking for an easy read will not be amused or satisfied. stock market

 

Without question, For Bears To Dance To is exquisitely well written. Morrison tells an intriguing tale of a young man named Wilton, someone raised to know right from wrong, or, as the author says, “as opposed to what everybody else in the world does.” Wilton joins the investment firm Mint, Lunch, Paunch, Stock market Fawn and Smile as a “flunky” apprentice. But he soon finds that he has a true talent for the brokerage business, so he is tenacious and waits for his chance to succeed. This is a moral tale set just at the time of the stock market collapse, and there are no coincidences—or accidents. Everything is extremely well planned and executed. Stock market

 

Morrison displays great skill at character development and dialogue”…”Morrison himself attributes his story’s style to both the Spanish picaresque and the German Bildungsroman. His protagonist, Wilton, is undoubtedly the impish hero to whom he refers in defining For Bears To Dance To as a picaresque novel. Ever the rogue, charming but always an outsider in the brokerage firm, Wilton eventually gets his due, thanks to ironic twists of plot that leave his less than “equal” character triumphant in the face of MLPF&S’s corruption. Meanwhile, in the Bildungsroman tradition, Wilton comes of age in the midst of all that corruption and earns his place within the society Stock market of money-makers and “people who matter.” In short, Wilton, the lackey, triumphs.

 

As a novel, For Bears To Dance To is many things. Postmodern, picaresque, and all, it is also an allegory. The “weight” of money figures prominently. Good and bad are easily recognizable. For those willing to take the plunge and examine its depths, it is a funny, deep, and telling story of twenty-first century society.” Stock market

Stock market

 Stock market